So many reviews in one post!

I was going for a full look while testing out a few new items, and showing off some old ones.

Review 1:

Loreal Magic Nude Liquid Powder [in light ivory]

Image

I had heard so much about how amazing this stuff is, and all the rants about how it was like Giorgio Armani’s Maestro formula. As you can see this isn’t a new bottle. In fact I’ve had it for months now. But if I actually liked the stuff, it would have been gone by now.

Image

I wanted to like this stuff so bad. I’m a big fan of thin formulas, and I also have some oil in my t-zone that shows through most foundations after a couple of hours. So I thought that liquid powder meant oil control.

NOPE. I poured some out onto my hand and the first thing that ran out of the bottle was some separated oil-like substance. Queue shaking, and re-pour. I had to keep my hand very level to keep the liquid on, or it would run down my arm. It’s about the consistency of heavy whipping cream [unwhipped].

Image

See how runny it is? I was actually excited about this, because thin formulas equal better blending and less caking, usually.

Image

Sadly, this photo makes the foundation look BETTER. Left side of my face is covered. Your right, of course.

It doesn’t cover well, blending is streaky, and the tone is almost..orange? Usually ivory is a neutral shade, but this had some weird hues in it.

Image

Ack. The formula sticks to every bit of peach fuzz, every patch of dead skin, and looks caked on despite the formula being runny. Coverage isn’t very good, and after only one hour of wear while just SITTING, my face is oilier than normal. I’ll be sending this bottle to my mom [who loves any kind of make-up hand-me-down, ha]

Rating: 1.5/5

Similar to: ?? If this is light the Maestro formula by Giorgio Armani, I wouldn’t buy that either.

Would I buy again? Nope, nope annnnnd nope.

But, the show must go on. Next I’ll be trying a new item from my recent Shopko haul:

Maybelline Tweed Blush in Pink Weave

Image

Could not get the damn sticker smudge off.

Anyways. I bought this in a clearance bit for $3.10, and I kind f regret it now because I’m not into looking like a disco ball. But I was in the heat of the shopping moment, so you can forgive me.

Image

See how pretty and sparkly the cake looks? Yeah, that’s a fucking disaster waiting to happen, I tell you.

Image

Bare-cheek in a slightly blurry world. That reminds me:

“I think Bigfoot is blurry, that’s the problem. It’s not the photographer’s fault. Bigfoot is blurry, and that’s extra scary to me. ‘There’s a large out of focus monster roaming the countryside.’ ‘Look out, he’s fuzzy, let’s get out of here.'” -Mitch Hedburg

Image

Annnd here I am with the blush. This doesn’t even capture all the light beams bouncing off my fucking face. So much glitter. Oh..that reminds me:

“I like to do crafts. I work with glitter quite a bit. Don’t worry, I make tough stuff like daggers and skulls. The thing about glitter is, if you get it on you, be prepared to have it on you forever ’cause glitter is the herpes of craft supplies.”- Demetri Martin

Image

Both cheeks. It’s too bad because I love the color of the blush, just not the glitter. I’m wondering if the glitter is only on top, maybe I could scrape it off and use the pretty pink blush underneath. But for now, this is a dud.

Rating: 2/5

Similar to: A discotheque

Would I buy it again? No, this is a waste of money.

Sigh, no luck. On we roll!

Review three:

Makeup Forever Mat Bronze

I honestly don’t remember buying this stuff. It just kind of…showed up. I wish I had that problem all the time.

Image

As you can see, this isn’t new. I’ve used it quite a bit, though I’ve moved on from it since I started using a cream bronzer.

Image

The color is actually nice for light skin. No orange tone, and it’s just dark enough for contouring. The formula is fine, but it’s nothing spectacular.

Image

What’s with all these out-of-focus pics? Sorry guys. I start by brushing it on the bottom of my cheekbone. I start about two inches from my nose and sweep upward, like the Nike swoosh. I then follow this up to my temple, at the edge of my hairline.

Image

See? Left side looks more structured. It really makes a huge difference, especially when you carry extra weight in the face like I do.

Image

I then brush it along the bottom of my jaw, and sweep it down my neck a bit for shading. It is SUPER important to blend in this step, and use a small amount of bronzer. You’ll look like you smeared nutella on your face if you don’t.

Image

Lastly, I sweep the brush down the sides of my nose to thin it out a bit. Cursed Armenian nose. Start at the inner corner of your eyebrow and move down the side of your nose. You can brush a bit under your nose it you want the effect of shortening a long nose.

Back to the product- Am i a huge fan? No. I’m sure I payed a lot or this, and I’m using elf brand’s contouring cream bronzer which works much better than this. All in all, a good enough product, but there are far betters options out there.

Rating 2.5/5

Would I buy it again? No.

Second half of contouring!

Review 4:

Loreal True Match Super Blendable Makeup in Porcelain

Finally, something like and use all the time!

Image

The formula is great. A bit thin, with decent coverage and a huge range of colors. The price is cheap. Like $5 cheap.  It’s a good foundation, but I use it for contouring with great results. Here’s how I do it!

Image

Put a wee bit of the foundation into the cap. Or on the back of your hand, doesn’t matter. I use a foundation brush to apply it.

Image

Make a triangle under your eye, with the longest side running alone your cheek. I go from the top of my nostril, straight up to the inner corner of my eye, from there to the outer corner, and a long line back to point A. This is actually an effect I learned after many years of figure drawing; it’s a flattering little patch of light that artists like to add in to shaded drawing. It makes the face seem livelier.

Image

Blend out with a finger or a sponge.  See how much more awake the left side looks? It may look a bit blocky, but we’ll blend even more soon.

Image

Next, make an upside-down triangle between your brows. The point should be facing downward; from that point, draw a line straight down your nose. Blend once again; the line slims your nose down, especially with the bronzer contour.

Image

Last bit of highlighting! Draw a triangle on your chin [this works best for people with round face/double chin as it pulls the eye upward] draw a line from the two side points, following the jawline. finish your highlighting by drawing an outline right outside your upper lip. Blend all with a sponge/finger.

Image

Now it’s time to soften up all the lines! Grab a fluffy brush and sweep it in circles over your whole face. Use a medium to light touch, no need to wipe off your makeup.

I finish all this by brushing with a light setting powder. I prefer Ben Nye’s Neutral Set. It’s $6 a jar and I’ve liked it more than all the expensive powders I’ve had.

Image

Almost out!

Finishing up the review for Loreal’s foundation:

Rating: 3.5/5

Would I buy it again? Yes!

Image

Finished face!

Leave a Reply

