An accidental DIY that blew my mind and saved me money!!

I absolutely hate washing my face at night. And that sounds so very stupid, but I’ll admit that the #1 reason is that I’m lazy. #2 would be that it wakes me up too much, even with using warm water. This is really awful because I also break out instantly if I leave makeup on while I sleep, not to mention that it’s just all around bad for your skin. So I’ve resorted to using makeup wipes that I keep on my nightstand. However, said wipes are not cheap and I find that the ‘cleansing’ types don’t remove make-up, and the ‘make-up remover’ types dry out my skin. I would also typically have to use two wipes just to get all the eye makeup off of me. Queue an act of desperation-turned-miracle:

Image

No, I did not stuff cotton pads into avon cream.

I made DIY make-up/cleansing/exfoliating/blemish treating pads. Holy shit, it really does all that.

I bought a cheap pack of swisspers ‘Oval exfoliating cotton pads’. They are actually quite large, and have a soft cotton side, along with a nubby exfoliating side. Trying to think up what would get my skin clean AND take off waterproof makeup, I decided on Cetaphil daily cleanser, almond oil, and tea tree oil. Mixing all these in to a bit of warm water, I stuffed the pads into an empty [albeit too small…] jar and poured the mixture over the pads.

I was really surprised when I first used one. I had heavy makeup on, and it took me ONE pad to get it all off. On top of that, my skin was so freakin’ smooth and soft. I couldn’t believe it, I felt like I didn’t even need moisturizer. My face wasn’t flaky [due to exfoliating pad], my face was cleansed [due to cetaphil], and best of all, the almond oil left me with a glowing soft face. The pads did not leave me oily at all.

But wait, there’s more! I’ve been using these for a few days now to be sure that the miracle wasn’t some fluke. But I soon discovered that it was quickly getting rid of my pimples. I kept showing P how nice my face looked and he agreed. I mean, this stuff cost me pennies, and it did more than every other wipe I’ve tried. I’ve come to a point were even if I wash my face in the shower, I’ll use one of these after because it makes my skin so much better.

Rant over. Here’s the recipe, hope it works out for you guys!!

DIY Miracle Make-up Remover Pads!

Swisspers Exfoliating Cotton Pads

4-5 Pumps of Cetaphil Daily Cleanser

1 1/2 Tablespoons Almond Oil

3-4 drops of Tea Tree Oil [be careful, don’t add too uch otherwise you’ll harm your skin]

1/2 cup warm water

Empty Jar/mason jar/ bottle

Stir together [don’t shake] until the mixture seems combined. You may have a little oil floating at the top, which is okay. Stuff cotton pads tightly into jar and pour the mixture over. I used about 1/4 of the cotton pads that came in the pack, so adjust recipe accordingly. If you need a more moisturizing formula, up the almond oil! If your skin is oily, add an extra drop of tea tree oil and an extra pump of cetaphil.

2 responses to “An accidental DIY that blew my mind and saved me money!!

Leave a Reply

