Review: Etude House Precious Mineral Any Cushion

Image

This was the one product from haul #1 that I was especially excited to review. Cushion BB creams are huge in Asia but have yet to hit America. Which is fine with me because American BB creams are absolute shite. Not sure what a cushion BB cream is? Read on, my friend.

Image

The English description. The claims for this product are that it is brightening, wrinkle-reducing, oil-controlling, and provides flawless coverage. Does it do all this? Keep moving and we’ll find out!

Image

Out of the box: a fat looking compact that still fits in the palm of your hand. The look is nothing special; just the Etude House insignia on a pearly case.

Image

Case has a nice big mirror, and a puff sits atop a hinged plastic cover. Hygienic! But the puff is not really a ‘puff’. I hate puffs. But this is actually pretty cool:

Image

Yes, I used it twice already to make sure I could provide a good review. This sponge thing is awesome! It’s like a dense rubber that picks up product without soaking it in. It’s pretty different from the latex wedges you get at the drugstore, and it doesn’t soak anything up like the beauty blender. Etude gets brownie points for ingenious sponge design.

Image

Again, there is a plastic cover that flips down over the product to keep it from drying out, as well as to keep the sponge clean. Everything about the case feels quality- the plastic is heavy and seems like it could withstand a few drops.

Image

Here it is! the actual product! So does the ‘cushion’ make sense now? It’s literally a sponge soaked with product. Like a cushion of makeup! The color here is shade 21, which is a light-medium shade. They also make shade 23, which is tan/medium. Both have yellow undertones.

Image

This is what happens if you press against the cushion. I’m excited: the thin formula looks promising!

Image

The shade matches my skin perfectly; I’m very very pale, so this seems like it may be too light if you’re even close to medium. The formula spread easily, but wasn’t slippery. I had to tap it on to get it to blend. But that’s actually the intended method for applying this type of product, hence the sponge.

ImageImage

Bare Cheek                                                              With BB cream

The coverage is great! It’s very breathable and natural, allowing my freckles to show through but covering redness, dark circles and zits. Looks like we may have a winner here folks! It isn’t a shiny formula, so if you prefer to go powder free, you can feel safe wearing this stuff without looking like you dipped your face in vegetable oil. Application was simple: press sponge into cushion, and dab/tap onto face. Don’t wipe, tap. Don’t smear, press. This actually creates a very natural skin-like texture which I find is hard to get with some liquid foundations.

Image

Sometimes BB creams can make you look awful under flash photography. They create a grey/white cast. So I tried, and apparently I am the white cast itself. I’m too fucking pale to tell. Ha. But it looks great to me, I don’t look more sickly than usual!

ImageImage

Without powder                                                     With setting powder

It’s actually hard to tell the difference, which shows you how non-greasy this formula is. I might go powder-free for once in my life! Yay!

Overall, I love this product and my only qualm is that it doesn’t look like you get much bb cream in the cushion. So I’ll keep track of how long it takes me to use this up; The price from beautynetkorea was insane; $21.99. That’s very expensive, but at Koreadepart it’s only $14. This nice part is that when you run out, you don’t buy a new case; you just buy a new cushion. Which is both eco-friendly and cheaper. The cushion is only around $8, so that’s about the cost of a low-end drugstore foundation. But this is much better and I’ll gladly spend that again!

Rating: 5/5

Would I buy again? Absolutely!

4 responses to “Review: Etude House Precious Mineral Any Cushion

      • Meh. I love American eye shadows and nail stuff. :( and they don’t ship to South Africa. I’m so blessed to be in Korea and I’ve recently found out that sephora ships to Korea now I’m going to die when I move back to Africa.

        Like

      • That is true, american brand eyeshadows have really pigmented color. I’m surprised that Sephora doesn’t ship to South Africa though! I think sasa.com might ship to you so you won’t go through Korean makeup withdraw when you go back :>

        Like

Leave a Reply

