Favorite Fragrances under $50

Untitled #26
I’ll admit that I’m cheap and I hate spending tons of money on fragrance. Alternatively, it can be hard to find a cheap fragrance that doesn’t smell, well….cheap. So I’ve compiled this list with a little something for everyone!
1. Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab– This place carries my favorite perfumes of all time. In fact, I love it so much that I did a huge review on the shop here. The selection is massive [I’m talking hundreds] and the price is cheaper than anything on this list. The woman who owns it has some of the most beautiful, inspired ideas about what a fragrance should be. Most are themed after poetry, old greek tales, goddesses, or victorian-era women. They have something for EVERYONE. Florals, gourmands, resins, woods, mosses, wines, fruits, you name it. The scents are masterfully mixed [oils] that are then poured and labeled in small apothecary vials. The bottle will last you forever, I still have mine from last year. Currently I’m wearing Perversion, check out the description:
The perfect scent to wear to your next bondage ball, dungeon adventure or sojourn to your favorite pleasure dome. Smoky rum and black tobacco with a whisper of steamy leather with a splash of crystalline chardonnay, layered over a sensual, sweet, and deceptively magnetic base of tonka.
It is definitely one of my favorites. I prefer deep, spicy masculine scents and this hits that while still maintaining a seductive femininity. Everyone who has asked me about what I’m wearing has bought the bottle! Another favorite:

Miskatonic University:

A venerable New England university, whose vast library holds many rare, diabolical and obscure arcane works, including one of the few surviving legitimate copies of the Necronomicon. Home to innumerable scholars of the esoteric and the occult, and the notorious Dr. Herbert West.

The scent of Irish coffee, dusty tomes and polished oakwood halls.

It quite literally smells like an oakwood room and sweet irish coffee. And books, but not in a musty way. I don’t know how they do it, but I’ve had so many compliments on this stuff. It just smells intelligent.

The site is a bit difficult to navigate at first, but I highly recommend you sit down with some coffee and take the time to figure it all out. As for ordering, buy the sample size of your scent first [called imp’s ears] and then buy your full size if you like the scent. At $17.50 for a full size bottle, it is well worth the time.

2. Juicy Couture Viva La Juicy– This stuff is always on sale, and it is pretty likely that you’ll find a bottle at an outlet store. It is a really youthful, sweet scent. “With top notes of wild berries and juicy mandarin gently tempered with honeysuckle, gardenia, and jasmine. Underlying it all are warm tones of amber, caramel, vanilla, sandalwood, and praline.” The gourmand scents prevail here, but the florals that lie over them are what keep this scent from being meant for a teenager. P loves it when I wear this, and at $30 a bottle from TJ Maxx, I can afford to keep it on my dressing table.

3. Next Eau Nude– This is the only scent I haven’t tried, but I’ve ready many reviews about this being a dupe of Chanel Mademoiselle, except it’s better. Next is a UK brand that has a pretty good amount of perfume, and a lot of them have been noted as designer dupes. This scent is described as “An enticing blend of lush red fruits, voluptuous florals, powdery musk and sumptuous vanilla.”. While I personally am not a fan of Chanel fragrances, this could be a great money-saver for some of you out there. Running about $15 usd, it’s worth a try.

4. Clean Warm Cotton– I just want to surround myself in this perfume when it’s raining outside and I’m wrapped in blankets. It smells like fresh laundry, if you washed your laundry in expensive designer detergent. The cotton is a high note here, and the scent is truly a warm freshness. Keep your spray minimal though, as it can easily be too strong. 1 oz runs $38 at Sephora.

5. Kat Von D Sinner– A truly sultry fragrance. I feel dirty [ in the best sense of the word] when wearing this. “Light, delicate top notes of orange blossom, refreshing mandarin, and fleshy plum create a provocative, sultry heart. Rich jasmine blends seamlessly with a white-flower bouquet, beautifully tainted by the spicy warmth of cinnamon, an herb associated with ancient rituals of pleasure. A dark, mysterious back of earthy vetiver, patchouli, and woods enveloped in creamy vanilla and sensual musk lingers on the skin.” The mandarin an orange blossom are apparent but they are amazingly deep and sexy. Think of oranges roasted in brown sugar and spices, then throw that over the smell of skin and deep woods. It is a true come hither scent, and at $45 [exclusive to Sephora] you can afford to have many a rendez-vous.

6. DSquared HeWood– This little bottle followed me everywhere I went for a good two years. It became my signature scent and everyone loved the smell. Yes, it is a cologne. They do make a female version of this, but I wanted pure wood, not flowery wood. “Top notes are violet and violet leaf; middle notes are vetiver and cedar; base notes are amber, musk and fir.” The cedar and fir really came through for me here, but with an odd sweetness that makes the fragrance very lovely on women. It’s very fresh while maintaining a deep spiciness, and it makes a perfect everyday scent. Not too deep, not too light. Definitely one of my favorite scents of all time. $33 for 1.7 oz at Fragrancenet.com

Leave a Reply

