9 [expensive] products that are worth the price

Image

I’ve finally realized that costlier doesn’t mean better. In college I could be seen dropping hundreds at Sephora for products that were mediocre at best. I thought that spending more meant I would look better, but instead I ended up looking like a caky fool. I’ve since found dupe upon dupe, better products, and bargains that beat the high end products. However there are a few products that I have found to be undupe-able, and despite the massive price tags, should be in your bag. I’ve tried all of these with the exception of two, and I’ll explain that in a minute.

1. Eve Lom Cleanser

I’ve tried a few products that were supposed dupes of this. None came close; the Eve Lom cleanser deserves it’s cult status. It took me about two months to finish a 1.7 oz tub of it, and at the end of the tub my skin looked great. Better than I’ve ever seen it. My acne was completely gone, my skin tone had evened out, and a dry patch had not been seen for the whole two months. The cleanser uses a very specific method using a specially woven cloth, and it may sound like a novelty but it truly works.

2. Philosophy the Microdelivery Purifying Peel

I actually got this as a deluxe sample and fell in love with it after first use. My skin was instantly left brighter and smoother, even though the mask only stays on for  one minute. I haven’t found anything as good as this, and you don’t have to use that much at a time so it lasts for a while.

3. Caudalie Divine Oil

Forget Moroccan Oil, move over Argan Oil. Nothing has worked as well as this multi-tasking miracle! “Concentrated with moisturizing active ingredients plus antioxidant grape polyphenols and draining ginkgo biloba, this lotion leaves the skin soft, firm, and radiant. Perfect as a post-sun product, its delicately perfumed texture is instantly absorbed.” The smell is fantastic. I wish I could buy a bottle of it in perfume form ;_;. I use this on my hair, my face, my body, my lips; everything.

4. Dior Créme Abricot Fortifying Cream for nails

This stuff has been around since 1963 and has definitely earned it’s cult product status. It’s almost hard to find a bad review, as this cream seems to really do the job. I used to use this after removing acrylic nails and it would smooth, strengthen, and moisturize even the worst removals. The price on this actually isn’t terrible since it lasts about 2 months with daily use. If you want soft cuticles but wear polish 24/7, you can still use this over polish without shortening you manicure.

5. UD Naked Palettes

This is one of the products I have not personally bought. The reason being that I just haven’t had the money, otherwise this would get right into my makeup bag. Honestly, even if you found a shadow to dupe each one of these, it would end up being the same price overall. UD shadows are very pigmented, high quality shades and this will last your forever. Just buy one.

6. Jin Soon Top Coat

If you’re like me, then you all have had the struggle of nail polish not drying for hours because of painting too many layers. Well, guess what. Jin Soon Top Coat penetrates all layers of polish and dries almost instantly, bonding the layers into a rock-hard long lasting manicure. This is the best top coat you will ever use, hands down.

7. Giorgio Armani Maestro Fusion Blush

This is the other product I haven’t tried. In fact, it’s not even out on the market yet. However, I think this product is going to quickly hit the best-sellers list. I have yet to see a thin formula liquid blush out on the market, and judging by the popularity of the Maestro foundation, this will be a hit. Described as “A revolutionary liquid blush that highlights the cheeks with weightless formula for an unforgettable sensual look.”, I think this will be worth the money to try out the formula.

8. Diorskin Nude Skin-Glowing Foundation

If you are going to spend $50 on foundation, buy this one. The coverage is great for the lightweight formula, and it’s very long-lasting. It really does give your face a gorgeous glow and it contains 100% natural ingredients that improve your complexion over time.

9. The Body Shop Hemp Hand Protector

I bought this stuff when it came out and it has been, hands-down [pun intended], the best hand cream I have ever used. The price is a bit high for a hand cream, but it only takes a small amount to cover hands. The smell is a love-it-or-hate-it. I personally love it- it’s a fresh, sweet herbal scent that’s somewhat strong. Try to buy during an online sale at The Body Shop, it seems like once monthly they do a half-off everything sale.

One response to “9 [expensive] products that are worth the price

Leave a Reply

