My Beauty Diary Review: Bird’s Nest Mask

Image

Kicking off the sheet mask reviews from the ‘My Beauty Diary Top 7 Kit’ with the mask I was least excited about: Bird’s Nest Mask. Why am I not excited? Welll I knew exactly what this contained when I read the name. Ever heard of the swiftlet bird? How about bird’s nest soup? Here you go:

“The Edible-nest Swiftlet (Aerodramus fuciphagus) is a small bird of the swift family which is found in South-east Asia. Its nest is made of solidified saliva and is used to make bird’s nest soup.”

I want to be really open to all aspects of different cultures. But I just can’t get on the animal mucus train. It freaks me out, seriously. But for the sake of the review, I must move on. Plus this has other ingredients in it so it isn’t straight spit but I mean it feels like spit and looks like spit. sigh.

On we go.

Image

Opened up the package, smells kind of floral. Loooots of serum.

“My Beauty Diary’s Bird’s Nest Mask uses a combination of rare elements comprising extract of Swiftlet’s nest and extract of deep sea plant, coralline, provide superb nourishment for skin. This formula improves skin hydration, provides rich nourishment and energy to heal Expression lines, smoothen dull and rough skin to make it translucent, tender and smooth. Hydrolyzed soy bean, rice proteins and other skin friendly moisture extracts combine to moisturize dry skin and promote skin defense strength and flexibility towards the restoration of a smooth, fresh and revitalized skin. With the Swiftlet’s Nest Mask, your skin will be invigorated and refreshed like the soft white skin of a new born baby.”

Image

When you take it out, you’ll notice a second layer on the mask. It’s a plastic backing that I’m assuming keeps the mask from tearing.

Image

Unfold the horror!

Image

Peeled off the backing, and the whole mask is just SOAKED. I felt wasteful throwing away the mask with so much serum on it so I rubbed it all over my neck. Plastic isn’t really the best vessel for delivering skincare to skin -___- ouch.

Image

When I took the mask out, it was dripping too much So I actually used my fingers to squeegee some of the product back into the packet. There is enough for two more uses in there O.O I need to buy some dry sheet masks to use up the rest of the serum from now on. For now I’ll just apply with my fingers.

Image

The mask is very thin and easy to rip, but I didn’t have any problems with it. In fact I kind of liked that it wasn’t thick because my skin felt comfortable and not suffocated. My only problem with the fit is on my nose. If my nose were flatter, it would have fit me, but I expect to have these problems as an Armenian.

So, ready for the before and after?

ImageImage

Before                                                                            After

EGAD. Okay the after looks awful. I look yellow. and sickly. and ugh. Is this the whitening effect they speak of? Pale girls should not use whitening products. My skin didn’t feel soft after, either. Not until 4 hours later, and It kinda feels greasy. Definitely not a fan of this mask :<

Rating 1/5

Would I buy again? Negatory.

Leave a Reply

