Review: My favorite setting powder, Ben Nye Neutral Set

Image

I’ve been using this stuff for a couple years now and have yet to find anything as good. Before this I was using Laura Mercier’s Loose Setting Powder which costs a heft $40 a pop. After going broke I needed to make a switch, and this happened to be the one. I have no memory of where I found it, but I’m glad I did.

Image

Ben Nye Neutral Set is a colorless fine milled setting powder that a lot of stage actors wear. If it’s good for clown makeup, then it’s good for me.

Image

It’s a little scary at first, using white powder. However with popularity increasing in HD colorless powders, it might seem a bit more normal.

Image

It blends in really well. Personally, I wanted a powder that would soak up oil, but keep my face from looking dusty or dry. I also hate when powder has shimmer, so this fits the bill.

Image

The downside: loose powder is messy. It’s too hard to carry around in a bag, so I keep a compact for on-the-go touch ups. I actually rarely have to do that anyways. The way I apply is simple: Shake a little into the cap, swirl and tap brush, and buff it on in a downward motion.

Image

A little out of focus. Make sure you tap your brush, otherwise you will look chalky.

So lets see a before and after. I chose to wear a very shiny BB cream, Tony Moly’s Luminous Goddess Aura BB Cream. You can check out the review in my upcoming sample post.

ImageImage

Before, very greasy                                          After, face is not sticky, makeup stays on longer

See how it doesn’t keep highlight from showing on your face? It’s nice because it really does keep grease at bay. Makeup lasts so much longer with this on. If you want a dewier look while still lengthening stay time, spritz your face with water or setting spray after using the powder.

Like I said, this has been my stand by for two years. Guess how many contains of it I’ve gone through? One. Yes, this is my first replacement after two years. The powder stayed fresh and didn’t lose any of it’s attributes over time. But this stuff will last you forever, man. And even better? It’s only $6 per bottle.

Rating: 5/5

Similar to: MUFE HD Setting Powder

Would I buy again? Always will.

One response to “Review: My favorite setting powder, Ben Nye Neutral Set

  1. Pingback: Review: Innisfree No-Sebum Mineral Powder | A Girl and her Soapbox·

Leave a Reply

