Review: ‘Hellcat’ by Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab

Image

Continuing on in the BPAL series with Hellcat, a very popular scent within the BPAL community. The scent description shows why:

HELLCAT
A soft, sensual, luxuriant blend with a wicked bite: hazelnut, buttercream, honey mead, rum and sweet almond.

Sounds nummy, no? As with all scents, I’ll post this:

A quick disclaimer- Scents will NOT smell the same on everyone. Try and think about what notes work best on your skin and avoid ones that go bad with your chemistry. For me, a note like rose goes AWFUL on my skin. It just smells wrong. But I can put it on a friend and it’ll smell fabulous. So don’t take my word as law here; I will do my best to give you very detailed descriptions of the fragrances.

Here we go!

Out of the bottle: Wet, sweet almond. Boozy buttercream. This smells like the best cocktail in the world.

Wet: The almond starts moving to the background. But it’s still there, leaving a sharp hint to the even sharper mead. The buttercream i less sweet now, and the two major players here are honey mead, almond, and a very slight hint of spice. This might be the mead, I’m not sure. It’s a very wicked amber bottle of booze that you would only pull out for the sexiest of reasons.

Dry: I’m getting a hint of clove, but it’s less of a holiday spice and more of a biting note. The hazelnut is there, but only as a nutty background to carry the almond.  It’s a grown-up gourmand, a sophisticated alcohol befitting a classy woman.

I’m not particularly a fan of this as a summer/spring scent but the spicy warmth make this an essential fall/winter fragrance, I will be repurchasing when the time rolls around again!

Leave a Reply

